Easy Sacrifice

I’m not afraid of sacrifice,
To lose little things like space,
Places to put items that are “nice”
But that really don’t need a place.

I’d give it all up if I had to,
Every CD, every comic, every book;
There are things anyone would do
That you wouldn’t give another look.

In truth I didn’t lose that much,
Just a few shirts off my back
And other things that didn’t matter, as such,
That could all fill a big, black sack.

I lost a room and a flight of stairs,
Two things I’d sacrifice happily
In exchange for all the love and care
That comes with extending my family.

***

Author’s note: Some context for this poem. At the start of the year, my brother, his girlfriend and their baby moved in to my family’s house. I gave them my room. (Don’t worry, I volunteered – they would never have asked me to move out of the biggest room in the house.) I moved back into the box room from the attic.

We’ve never had so many people living in this house, and it’s wonderful.

Who knew the sound of a baby girl talking to her mother in the morning (well, not talking… she doesn’t have words yet) could be so great?

About Paul Carroll

Paul Carroll is a writer, born, raised and still living in Dublin. By day he's a student and bookseller, by night he writes fiction and uses social media.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

