When I Met You

Everything changed when I met you.
Life was no longer simple,
Even if everything we did together was simple.
When you spoke, I listened.
It mattered to me that you were happy.
I cared if you’d eaten, and when,
And when you were upset, I had to help.
When I met you, you became everything.
I wanted nothing more than to hold you.
I couldn’t help but love you.
These are truths that arose when I met you,
And they never stopped being true.
I can’t imagine my life before you;
I don’t want to.
We’re here, both of us,
And that’s what matters most.
We’re here to laugh at each other’s silliness,
We’re here to get excited when we see each other,
We’re here for each other, with a smile;
We’re here to love each other.

About Paul Carroll

Paul Carroll is a writer, born, raised and still living in Dublin. By day he's a student and bookseller, by night he writes fiction and uses social media.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

