The Truth

This is just one for the record:
I care about you.
It doesn’t matter what you think of that,
I know you don’t believe it,
But it’s the damn truth.
I care about you,
And you matter.
Don’t ask me why you matter,
Because the most important things
Are always difficult to explain.
Don’t you know, though, that’s it’s the truth?
I care about you,
You matter, a lot,
And I love you.
I know you hate to hear that.
You think people will get the wrong idea.
But here’s the truth:
You make me laugh.
You make me feel good about myself.
You make me feel safe.
So I kept every receipt that had to do with you.
I kept receipts from lunch,
From CDs and concerts,
From coffee at petrol stations,
From historical sites and museums,
And I took photographs.
I wanted one from every night out,
If there were no receipts.
I wanted us together,
I wanted you with others,
I wanted you happy,
And I want to show you
Because I think you need to see it.
This is one for the record,
And the truth is this:
I can only dream for a friend like you,
And sometimes I do.
Sometimes I’ll lie in bed and dream,
And it’ll have nothing to do with you.
Except you’ll turn up out of nowhere,
And it always makes me happy.
In my dreams I hug you,
Even though I’m afraid to do it otherwise,
And it always feels right.
You still catch me off guard.
You’re still saving my life.
You’ll always be my best friend,
Corny as that sounds.
This is one for the record,
And it’s the truth.

About Paul Carroll

Paul Carroll is a writer, born, raised and still living in Dublin. By day he's a student and bookseller, by night he writes fiction and uses social media.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

