Someday

Someday we’ll meet
At some lost little street
We’ve never walked before,
And if not for your
Blindness to who I became
The man you once knew might be the same
As the one you meet now
In a different way and how.
But you never knew
When those message became few
That I was tiring out
From trying to make out a shout,
A truth you couldn’t deny
About me, and you and I,
And all the ways we change
And this terrible little shame
That I couldn’t control,
Couldn’t keep myself whole
When the world made my life
Appear a horrid little strife,
A never-ending agony
Of anxiety and panicky
Decisions that did no good,
When all that should
Have been was gone,
And there was no right or wrong.
Someday you will understand
That the child in me manned
Up to face the world
Against which he had been hurled
At a million miles per hour
By some violent, external power,
A never-ready child of me,
Who never knew what he could be.
Someday you might see your mistake
That all those rash decisions you make
Are pulling you with the shove
Of a life that goes without love,
Unconditional, something pure,
Something I could have called a cure,
Some way to make sense of me,
So someday we could be ‘we’.
It is a childish wish, you’d say,
That we’d ever be ‘us’ someday.

About Paul Carroll

Paul Carroll is a writer, born, raised and still living in Dublin. By day he's a student and bookseller, by night he writes fiction and uses social media.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Someday

  1. Gede Prama says:

    Dear friend, Thank you very much, I’ve visited your blog, read an article that is quite interesting, makes me really happy to have been following your blog and you are an awesome blogger, full Inspiring and hope you can inspire more readers. Thank you and best regards from Gede Prama affection 🙂

Leave a Reply

