Back and Forth

Our little game of back and forth
Commenced once again,
First with a call at 6am
I thought would have no end,

And then again with a query,
Both from you to me,
Which makes me wonder who we are,
And what we’re supposed to be.

Explicitly we’re nothing, right?
But then why make that call?
And why follow it up with a text?
Why think of me at all?

You said you kept an eye on me,
Of which I have no doubt,
But just tell me what we are;
I can’t figure it out.

About Paul Carroll

Paul Carroll is a writer, born, raised and still living in Dublin. By day he's a student and bookseller, by night he writes fiction and uses social media.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

