Masquerade

Sometimes I try real hard
To get a few cheap laughs,
And if you’re sat there listening,
I’m sure you’ll appreciate that,
But I don’t know how to tell
A tale without a rat,
A villain we can stand around,
Point our fingers and just laugh.

I don’t think it’s worth it all,
These questions that we ask,
Of life with other people
Who don’t sit and wear a mask.

Maybe we’ll discover
What we were meant to be,
That I can make you laugh enough
That you and I’ll be we,
Holding hands in public
For all the pricks to see,
That even little weirdoes
Can learn to be happy.

I don’t think it’s worth it all,
These questions that we ask,
Of life with other people
Who don’t sit and wear a mask.

If we could just be famous,
We might live together us,
Young and getting older
No matter how much you fuss,
And you’ll shite on a while
About the way that I cuss,
Or sit in a separate seat
When we ride the bus.

‘Cause I don’t think it’s worth it all,
These questions that we ask,
Of life with other people
Who don’t sit and wear a mask.

Someday you’ll get out of bed
And just stand giving out,
That I am way too quiet,
When all you do is pout,
And I don’t understand, really,
What this crying’s all about,
And you keep on moaning
Until I want to shout.

I don’t think it’s worth it all,
These questions that we ask,
Of life with other people
Who don’t sit and wear a mask,

‘Cause I’m not here to lay,
Pretending to be something else,
Just trying to make you happy
While my heart begins to melt.
Sometimes I forget
All the things that I felt
When we first met one night,
And you wore your shiny dress.

But I don’t think it’s worth it all,
These questions I don’t ask,
Of life with other people
Who don’t sit and wear a mask.

And maybe I should take mine off
And learn to let you go,
All of this playacting
That I put on for show.
One day we might meet again
In sunshine or in snow,
And just like the weather,
I’m the man you’ll never know.

‘Cause I didn’t think it’s worth it all,
The big questions that we asked,
Of life with other people
When we shouldn’t wear a mask.

About Paul Carroll

Paul Carroll is a writer, born, raised and still living in Dublin. By day he's a student and bookseller, by night he writes fiction and uses social media.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

