Something New

I spent ten years of my life trying something new
Until it became a part of me.
It was no longer fresh or exciting
In and of itself,
Though it’s still my first love,
And I never want to be parted from it.

But that’s not enough, anymore.

I can’t sit in a room all day long
After all this time doing so for everything else, too.
I need to get out.
I need to see the world through a different lens,
A literally different lens.
I need to walk around my city
With images in mind,
Not stories,
And I need to explore the finer details.

I need to try something new,
And I’m no good at sports.
I tried, I failed, I abandoned the idea swiftly.

But I will always need something new.
I will always need to try something different,
Even if everyone else is doing it.
I just need it, for me.

About Paul Carroll

Paul Carroll is a writer, born, raised and still living in Dublin. By day he's a student and bookseller, by night he writes fiction and uses social media.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

